A face from the past

I have recently started scanning photos from an old family album.  It contains photos from 1870 – 1940 of people whom I have no idea who they are, only that they are related to me in some way.  They range from photos taken in Birmingham to Melbourne, from Ireland to South Africa, and they all have a tale to tell.  They speak to me of times past, lives lived, and enrich my place in the world, for without them I would not be who I am.  So over the next year expect quite a few of these people to show their faces.

So first on the list we have this dapper gentleman from Birmingham.
WorkI have no idea who he is, but he is probably a Humphreys, and on close examination of the photograph a 6×10 cm shot, the tie has a weave very similar to one which is in my wardrobe which I was told belonged to my Great grandfather, so who knows.

There is something in his eyes, a sort of haunted look, as if he wants to tell us that something is going to happen.

Any thoughts - Leave a Reply

