Aqua drop

columnOk so a few months ago I thought I would play around with trying to photograph some drops of water,  just as a bit of an experiment to see if I could do it.

so I filled the sink with water, set the camera on a tripod nearby, with a speedlight attached, set the tap dripping, plugged in my remote, and fired away.

I set the aperture fairly small f 18 so I could get a good depth of field, zoomed in, and set the focus manually by holding a pencil in the water at the point where the drips were landing and focusing on that.

CraterThe first few shots were taken at a round 1/100 sec  with the room light on, and then I changed to taking some at over a second in a darkened room, and thus using the speed light to freeze the motion.

The difficult part is estimating when the drop is going to hit.  Anyway I was sufficiently pleased that I edited some of the shots for you, and will give it a go in the future when I have time to set up with maybe coloured water, a tray and a drip bag.

Drops

Any thoughts - Leave a Reply

