Pleasures – Lens Artists Photo Challenge #91: Simplicity

This weeks challenge from the Lens-Artists asks:

As the coronavirus pandemic spreads and intensifies, many of us around the world are spending a lot of time at home, following governmental regulations to shelter in place. More and more of us feel like we’re returning to a simpler time–cooking our own meals, playing board games, reading (and re-reading) the classics, cleaning the house, and taking up hobbies like knitting, sewing, and gardening. For me, this time also highlights the value of simplicity.

This week, for Lens-Artists Photo Challenge #91, we’re getting back to basics. Show us what simplicity means to you.

So one of the things I enjoy is baking, cooking in general, for me it is one of the great pleasures in life!  And now I do not have to commute to work I find I have 2 1/2 hours longer a day, in which I can actually indulge myself.

I have a lot of hobbies that hark back to simpler times, baking, sewing, acoustic music, artwork, reading, yet I also have those that are right up there on the edge of technology! I think it is fair to say that the ‘older’ ones, from the ‘simpler’ times can be the most complex to get to grips with – note, I did not say master, some of the more modern technological pursuits are easier to involve yourself in, but mastery is also equally as complex.

So how do I get this ramble back on track with ‘simplicity’! Well I actually find baking fairly simple, my grandmother showed me what do do when I was young, and it has never left me.  However I do know others, do not find this task simple, yet we ‘mostly’ all find the need to eat, a simple necessity, if not the ability to do so.   So wherever possible let us help one another out, within the confines we now find ourselves, a little love goes a long way, as does shared knowledge and skills.  And when we do come out of the other side of this, let us remember how ‘simple’ it is to care for one another!

So a photo of yesterday’s baking; bread, pie, and tarts!

‘Pleasures’, 2020.
LA91c

Ken

16 comments

Any thoughts - Leave a Reply